‘...promotes research on human development all over the world...’


Learn more about opportunities, events and activities offered by ISSBD around the world.

ISSBD Conferences and Workshops

For other behavioural development conferences hosted around the world please see, or sign up to, the ISSBD e-newsletter. Click here for the latest issue!

Upcoming Events

3rd International Video Conference on Peer Relations
November 14th, 2014
To register and find out more, click here.

24th Biennial Meeting for ISSBD
Vilnius, Lithuania

Recent Events

23rd Biennial Meeting for ISSBD
July, 8-12, 2014
Shanghai, China

10th ISSBD African Regional Workshop
September 25-27, 2013
Pretoria, South Africa

ISSBD Regional Workshop
September 3-7, 2013
Budapest, Hungary

22rd Biennial Meeting for ISSBD
July, 8-12, 2012
Edmonton, Canada

ISSBD India workshop report: Chandigarh, October 13-15, 2011
For full details of the workshop in Chandigarh run by Deepali Sharma and Suman Verma

ISSBD Awards

ISSBD Awards 2014

ISSBD is pleased to announce its biennial call for awards in an effort to recognize the distinguished contributions of Society members. Please download this document, where you will find a description of the four awards to be made at the ISSBD 2014 Biennial in Shanghai, China, as well as details of how to enter your nominations.

Deadline for receipt of nominations is February 15, 2014.

ISSBD Awards 2012

The following scientists were selected as awardees at the 22nd ISSBD Biennial Meeting, Edmonton, Canada:

Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award: Professor Wyndol Furman from the University of Denver who was nominated by William Bukowski of Concordia University, Montreal, Canada.

The Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award honors a single individual who has made distinguished theoretical or empirical contributions to basic research, student training, and other scholarly endeavors in Behavioural Development. Evaluations are based on the scientific merit of the individual's work, and the significance of this work for generating new empirical or theoretical areas in the study of Behavioural Development.

Distinguished Scientific Award for the Applications of Behavioural Development Theory and Research: Professor Rainer K. Silbereisen, Ph.D., University of Jena, Germany, who was nominated by Katariina Salmela-Aro from the University of Helsinki and Karina Weichold from the University of Jena.

The ISSBD Distinguished Scientific Award for the Applications of Behavioural Development Theory and Research honors researchers who have made distinguished theoretical or empirical advances in Behavioural Development leading to the understanding or amelioration of important practical problems. The award is for an individual whose work has contributed not only to the science of Behavioural Development, but who has also worked to the benefit of the application of science to society. The individual's contributions may have been made through advocacy, direct service, influencing public policy or education, or through any other routes that enable the science of Behavioural Development to improve the welfare of children and/or adults, and/or families.

Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Research and Theory in Behavioural Development: Dr. Rachel Seginer of the University of Haifa. She was nominated by Margarita Azmitia and Catherine Cooper of the University of California, Santa Cruz.

The ISSBD Award for Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Research and Theory in Behavioural Development honors distinguished and enduring lifetime contributions to international cooperation and advancement of knowledge.

Outstanding Young Scientist: Dr. Michael Pleuss, University of California, Davis who was nominated by Jay Belsky, also at the University of California, Davis.

The ISSBD Young Scientist Award recognizes a young scientist who has made a distinguished theoretical contribution to the study of Behavioural Development, has conducted programmatic research of distinction, or has made a distinguished contribution to the dissemination of developmental science. The award is for continued efforts rather than a single outstanding work.

Awards committee:

Toni Antonucci, Chair: Avi Sagi-Schwartz, Jaap Denissen, Jeanette Lawrence.

Toni Antonucci would like to thank the committee members for their tireless hard work.



Most Read
Most Cited